Lotus Art

Free Stream / Download on Bandcamp!

New Studio Album Out Now!

Available on Vinyl and Free Digital Download

CD/Vinyl Order Now Download on iTunes
  • Monk (Young)
  • He Ain't Well - ft. Ozay Moore
  • Cannon in the Heavens - ft. Lyrics Born
  • Great Molasses Flood
  • Deep Inside the Mothership - ft. CX
  • Different Dream - ft. Mr. Lif
  • Pitched to the Fire
  • Another World - ft. Gift of Gab
  • In the Shadow of Towers
  • Follow Me - ft. Mane Rock and Xencs L. Wing
  • Atlas Slugged
  • Simplify Unwind - ft. Mr. Lif
  • Four Tips - ft. Ras Arcane
  • Bow Out
  • Cloud 9 - ft. Doodlebug
  • Monk (Old)

“It's Tribe meets Digable Planets with a tight facelift, however, this track's brand of Botox is for the soul.” - Sarah Polonsky, Vibe

One of the defining and most popular acts in live electronic music, Lotus has never fit neatly in a simple categorization. The 5-piece continues to push boundaries with the September 10th release of Monks, a hip-hop album featuring Lyrics Born, Gift of Gab (Blackalicious), Mr. Lif, Doodlebug (Digable Planets) and more. Using the band’s own studio work as a sample source, the music will have a familiar feel to Lotus fans but recontextualized as classic hip-hop. Monks will be available digitally, for free via the band’s official website or on iTunes, and on vinyl.

"The project started with a couple tracks we recorded with Mr. Lif,” explains Luke Miller. “From there, we just kept expanding to eventually include 11 different MCs and singers. Lotus is predominantly an instrumental band, so it was a lot of fun to create these collaborations."

Instrumental interlude tracks push into more experimental to create cinematic vignettes. Jesse Miller states, “For the interludes, we went toward funk and jazz influenced beat music. Off-time drum beats, analog synthesizers, tape echo machines and even a baritone guitar were used to record these short evocative set pieces.”

The tracks on the album are woven together with a narrative following a monk's journey. "Life as a touring artist feels monastic sometimes. Monks devote their entire lives to their spirituality. We devote much of ours to music and have to sacrifice certain things to make that happen," says Luke.

Producers: Luke Miller and Jesse Miller
Musicians: Luke Miller (keyboards), Jesse Miller (bass, synths), Mike Rempel (guitar) Mike Greenfield (drums), Alex Toth (trumpet), Adam Dotson (Trombone), Erin Sharp (violin), Kenny Martin (cello). Voiceover: Michael Ricci
Music recording: American Diamond (engineer Bill Moriarty), Miner Street Studio (engineer Jonathon Low). Mastering: Daddy Kev. Mix: Tracks 4, 7, 9, 11, 16 - Jonathon Low at Miner Street Studio (Philadelphia). Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15 - 2Genius at Dub Media (Denver)
Cover photo: Liz Nail. Layout: Tommy Bradel

2013 Lotus Vibes Music (ASCAP)